Red Rot

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sabbath Day

Feeling humble. Humbled. I get lackadaisical about my faith, questioning why I even bother. Or why my parents bothered. Or what about this sustains me. But in quiet moments I know.

I was sitting in the foyer today waiting outside the chapel while the sacrament was being passed. Streams of little families were filing in late, children running around the hall, playing with toy cars, hugging their parents. I didn't know everyone, but I did know them. And I know why I come. There is something about this sweet dedication to families, this sense of peace and community, the push for introspection, for communion with God, for eternal progression, something about the urge to become a better people. Kinder than we otherwise would be.

There is something about the narrative of salvation. My battered but somehow unyielding belief in a God who knows me and impossibly loves me, and loves us all, that keeps me coming. The feeling that He is there. My marvel at a world His hands have made.

I don't think you can explain faith. Or hope. There's too much cognitive dissonance. And doubt and fear and questioning and pain. Too much beauty, too much hard-won history, too many insights, small feelings, tears. Too many bargains. It's Graham Greene's The End of the Affair, Sarah begging for the life of Bendrix. It's a man dying and others being healed. It's failing and absolute desperation made whole with the spirit of peace. It's comfort. Structure. A way. I don't know why I know. I just know.

11:12 p.m. - 2012-04-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

< - >

now

cannet

compiled

commented

Home

talk to me

take a chance

other diaries:

fuckxthis
tsulnagrom
helian
boysordeath
kimholmes
gregcaldwell
emotionalist
eyesout
dalinography
reno-dakota
virtu
bethandbeth
williambost
saint-erin
toops
whitepants
nations
milkfilm
goldfriend
rawbeanage
pan-opticon
sudsidies
chuckduck
axde
lilalee
imprenable
punchstab
sageface
troymccool
adelie
lovaliss
madre-teresa
passthison
thegorbott
gumptioned
freightcars
gigihodges
suffa-kate
paperfriend
chrisalmond
lissinksi
jjquick
miobravo
automatos
wasgood
panzuda
kindbegger
fuckbowser
kindbowser
jpop
elledyal
rupeshow
msea
hold-it
weknowweknow