Red Rot

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Puritan youth

I am who I may have romanticized in Puritan youth, an idea of a woman, unbound, with silver rings, drinking wine in early afternoon. Darker than me, but thoughtful, foreign.

I am at home with myself, and I am not who I thought I was.

The bloom is fading, but I don't feel lesser. I do feel afraid of age, of dying, of not having beauty to use as shield or weapon. I do feel afraid of loss and of not measuring up and of wasting the years. Wasting myself, slowly, in part of the body's long dance toward inevitable failure.

I do feel afraid of stupidity, of the inelegance of moments coloring the gold times grey.

I don't know why I spend time worrying at all, as if contemplation were some necessary progress, the brain a Cy Twobly painting, charting it's wars in chalk on blue backgrounds.

If it's all a dance, we dance. When I would play the piano, long fingers pressing black and white keys, I knew the player's secret. I couldn't play if I was thinking about it.

5:55 p.m. - 2020-01-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

< - >

now

cannet

compiled

commented

Home

talk to me

take a chance

other diaries:

eyesout
dalinography
reno-dakota
bethandbeth
virtu
williambost
toops
saint-erin
whitepants
nations
milkfilm
goldfriend
rawbeanage
pan-opticon
sudsidies
chuckduck
axde
lilalee
imprenable
punchstab
sageface
troymccool
adelie
lovaliss
madre-teresa
passthison
thegorbott
gumptioned
gigihodges
suffa-kate
paperfriend
chrisalmond
lissinksi
jjquick
miobravo
automatos
panzuda
kindbowser
fuckbowser
kindbegger
elledyal
rupeshow
msea
hold-it
jpop
emotionalist
gregcaldwell
kimholmes
boysordeath
freightcars
helian
tsulnagrom
weknowweknow
fuckxthis
wasgood
unowhatihate
unowhatilike