Red Rot

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A place where I'm exhausted with my own feelings. God, let it be weeks before I think of you again.

I cried tonight thinking about Quinn. I don't know why I started thinking about him. My brain wanders, and I'm still awake at 2am, and I went there. I miss him and feel bad for missing him. I wonder if I should have tried harder. I remember the moment I gave up. The brokenness and exhaustion. The brokenness and exhaustion that still exist. That I can't fix, years later.

People have asked me if I still love him. I do. It lingers and will probably always linger. I avoid him the way he avoids me. There's too much hurt there, an infinite amount of love and pain. And I wonder if this is infinite too, this cycle of memory and loss. How I can be feeling good (in small ways beginning to resemble the full, confident person I used to be) and suddenly remember you and lose my footing. Wonder why you left. Wonder why you never tried to keep me.

I broke myself fighting for you. You were family, and I didn't want to give up on that. When our divorce is finalized I know I will cry and that relief will only be a part of it. I acknowledge the loss.

This is what I can live with:
I want you to be happy
I know I was worth keeping

2:25 a.m. - 2013-07-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

< - >

now

cannet

compiled

commented

Home

talk to me

take a chance

other diaries:

unowhatihate
wasgood
fuckxthis
tsulnagrom
weknowweknow
helian
freightcars
boysordeath
kimholmes
gregcaldwell
emotionalist
eyesout
dalinography
reno-dakota
bethandbeth
virtu
williambost
saint-erin
toops
whitepants
nations
milkfilm
goldfriend
rawbeanage
pan-opticon
sudsidies
chuckduck
axde
lilalee
imprenable
punchstab
sageface
troymccool
adelie
lovaliss
madre-teresa
passthison
thegorbott
gumptioned
gigihodges
suffa-kate
paperfriend
chrisalmond
lissinksi
jjquick
miobravo
automatos
unowhatilike
panzuda
kindbowser
fuckbowser
kindbegger
elledyal
rupeshow
msea
jpop
hold-it